Welcome!

Welcome to my journey of discovery as I learn about the process of writing. I am a creative writing student at the University of Central Oklahoma.

My purpose in creating this blog is two-fold. First, I am in a class called “Blogs: New Independent Media” that requires I create a blog. Two, I wish to not only share my journey to becoming a published author with other writers, but hopefully learn something from my readers in the process.

Currently, I am working on my first fiction novel, a Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Paranormal Romance. Actually, I don’t know which category it will fit into right now, but that just about covers where I’m at right now with it. I finished my first eighteen pages of the beginning and had it critiqued in class a few weeks ago. I soon found out that I have a lot to learn about writing. I knew that going in, but it became glaringly apparent from the feedback I received from writers who have been at it a while.

So I’ve been reading all I can on the process of building a fiction novel ever since. For my writing class I need to come up with at least another twenty pages in the next eight weeks. Bring it on!

But I want to show some improvement in my writing, so I’ve turned to several books. If you haven’t heard of them before, you are really missing out. The reading is fascinating, but is rather overwhelming too. There is much more involved in writing a great novel than I ever realized, and while intimidating it hasn’t put me off from continuing to write. It just brought home how much I have to learn. Since I just started last semester I knew this wouldn’t be easy or quick. I’m in it for the long-haul.

If you are interested, the books I’m reading right now on the craft are Writing the Breakout Novelby Donald Maass and The Writers Journey: Mythic Structure for Writersby Christopher Vogler.

Also, there are tons of articles online about writing as well. One of my favorite with a plethora of educational articles is Writer’s Digest. Visit their website at writersdigest.com. If you are interested in writing a Harlequin romance, check out their publication guidelines.

Three really great books covering the basics of writing are On Writing Wellby William Zinsser, Bird by Birdby Anne Lamott, and The Making of a Storyby Alice LaPlante. I studied these books in my writing classes last semester.

These books and websites hold some really great advice. I look forward to sharing some of the insights I gain with everyone. I hope you will do the same and please, share where you are in your writing journey. I’d love to hear from you.

Write On!

  1. #1 by Eliza Quinzet on March 10, 2012 - 4:55 pm

    Thanks for all the links and reading ideas. I am looking forward to reading your blog!

  2. #2 by Eliza Quinzet on March 10, 2012 - 5:06 pm

    Looking forward to your blog. Thanks for all the site and book ideas already!

  3. #3 by ariannapoland on March 11, 2012 - 9:01 pm

    I hope you fulfill your goal of becoming a published author. I think authors are amazing people. Some of my favorites are Gregory Maguire, Ken Follett, Nelson DeMille, Laurie Nataro, Jennifer Weiner and Nicholas Sparks.

    I read a lot. ( :

    • #4 by ltreadway on March 20, 2012 - 4:45 pm

      I read a lot too. Thanks for your input.

  4. #5 by Sarah on March 13, 2012 - 11:48 pm

    Good luck on your quest to become a published author! As someone who has done some professional editing before, let me know if you need a look over.

    • #6 by ltreadway on March 20, 2012 - 4:44 pm

      Thank you Sarah. I appreciate the offer and just may take you up on that. I would enjoy hearing more about your editing experience. Feel free to contact me anytime to discuss.

Leave a Reply

