Inspirational Author’s Journey – Peg Kehret

I read Peg Kehret’s small, but inspirational book, Five Pages a Day: A Writer’s Journeythis week. It made me laugh and cry and totally relate to some of the things she went through in her journey to becoming a published author. While the length of time it took her to get published was rather discouraging, her perseverance was very inspiring.

As with any profession, it takes perseverance to succeed. I could totally identify with her desire to write. While I don’t want to go back to computer programming or working for someone else, I don’t think it would be such a hardship to do so knowing that I will never stop writing. On the other hand I really want to devote all my time to pursuing authorship.

Peg went through a lifetime of trying different types of writing, trying to find the one that fit her. In the process, she found she had talent at doing just about anything with her writing. However, in the end she found the form of writing she was best at and in which she found the most joy, writing children’s books.

I too started out thinking about starting with this genre, I still think about it. Trying different forms of writing is one thing I love about my classes. Where Peg took a long time to find her passion, I’m using my classes to explore my options. I just hope it doesn’t take me as long to find my favorite, but if it does I hope I have as much fun in the journey as Peg.

I finished my second chapter for class last week. I wasn’t very happy with the chapter, but everyone thought it was better than my first chapter. There are still some changes I will be making, possibly even rewriting these chapters completely. But for now, I’m happy to be making progress. Everyone thought I had improved in showing and not telling. My next chapter is my next challenge. I have no clue where it’s going at this point. We’ll have to see what develops in the next few weeks.

I took out another stack of books from the library this week as well. One of them is the 2012 Writer’s Market. If you haven’t checked out these books, you should. I always thought they were just directories of publishers, so I figured “I don’t have anything to send in, so I don’t need it right now.” But to my surprise it contains more than just a directory of publishers. It also has articles on writing and publishing related issues. It is a storehouse of information for writers at any stage of their writing. I highly recommend you take a look at these books even if you are just starting out.

Peg Kehret’s book gave me a lot to think about for my own writing journey. I thank her for writing her legacy down. If I’m lucky maybe one day I’ll share my own journey with other beginning authors, and hopefully it will be just as inspirational and eye opening as Peg’s story was for me.

  1. #1 by newenglandcowgirl on April 4, 2012 - 5:53 pm

    I enjoyed reading your post and wish you great luck in your writing journey. I too am from Oklahoma and moved to Massachusetts a few years ago. Also like you, I am an aspiring author that has great interest in childrens books…the writing of them as well as the illustrating. I am going to look for the book ” Five Pages A Day: A Writers Journey”. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

