Allergies, Bananas & Dramatic Suspense

Imagination At WorkWhat do allergies, bananas and dramatic suspense have in common? Well, read on to find out…

Quite often I find myself watching or reading a news article and asking myself “what if?” What if I put my characters through this or that? What if this happened to them? What would happen next? How would they react or overcome this problem? Where would it take my storyline? Best of all, how would it create tension or drama in my story?

I’ve seen quite a few things on TV lately about peanut allergies. I didn’t really pay much attention since I don’t have that problem myself. That is, not until I had my own allergic reaction to bananas last night. This got me thinking about using something similar either food or some other type of allergic reaction in my novel.

Think about it. It would add several admirable elements to an exciting story. Tension, protagonist bonding, drama; these are important elements in any great novel. There are many ways to do this and there are ideas that surround us on a daily basis that can provide the fuel for the ideas we use to create this dramatic feel.

For my own novel, which is Sci-Fi/Fantasy Romance, it got me thinking how I could use some type of allergy idea and if it would fit. Despite an advanced technological society, if you are not located someplace with access to it, you could still perish without human intervention. My protagonists are traversing a jungle to reach the main city. While they have medical and technical advances, they are far from civilization. So, an allergy could fit in to my story very well. I have the setting to create tension with this idea.

This idea can also create a bonding experience between my main characters. It is an opportunity to build their relationship and rely on each other for survival.

We’ll see how I use it…or not. My brain is perking as we speak. These situations can provide some much needed tension and drama. The possibilities are endless. This just goes to show, there are ideas permeating our surrounds every day. All we have to do is keep our eyes open and our imaginations humming.

By the way, I promised more relationship article links. Here’s one that just popped up today.

15 Things Men Really Wish We Knew

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Eliza Quinzet on April 23, 2012 - 7:27 am

    Great ideas! It is amazing how your imagination can wrap up around one idea. Tyfor the link it was fun to read!

Leave a Reply

