Dangerous Distractions, Blessed Balance

In learning the craft of writing, I find my self more and more distracted from my goals of completing my first novel. The distractions I have encountered this past few weeks include, all manner of writing books, organization meetings, Facebook, reading emails, web surfing, writing contests, as well as all of the daily chores we all have on our plates. While these are all worthy pursuits or necessary tasks in the writing life, it is very easy to put these first or tell ourselves we’ll write after finishing them.

I recently attended a new organization meeting, a charter group of the Association of Christian Fiction Writers called OKC Christian Fiction Writers. Lacy Williams was the speaker. She shared her insights into the process of writing a novel, and while we all know that everyone works differently, she had quite a few points to make that I have found common to my own way of writing. In addition, she gave some very good advice. I spoke to her afterwards and expressed my worry over the distractions I was facing. She reminded me that the best way to handle the writing life is to find a balance. Very good advice for anyone. Life is always best when there is balance.

Balance is crucial to any endevor, especially goals we set for ourselves. There will always be distractions in our lives. How we handle them is the most important thing. If we want to accomplish a goal, balance should be the first thing we think about, the first thing we deal with or plan.

Finding balance is difficult for me because I want to do everything. And not just everything, but everything right now. Becoming a writer is a priority goal for me. It is by far the hardest thing I’ve every tried to accomplish in my life. But it is also turning out to be the most fun I’ve ever had in my life as well. I love to learn, so it’s a pleasant surprise to find myself learning many new things, not just writing craft, on the way to obtaining my desired life.

Setting goals may come first, then planning a balanced schedule next. After that, I suggest the next important ingredient to be setting priorities. Actually this is vital to planning a balanced schedule. I have a long list of goals I want to accomplish. Prioritizing has to be used to plan and balance daily tasks in order to get to our goals.

What have you discovered on the way to gaining your goals? How do you handle the tasks necessary to get to your goals? How do you plan? What distractions do you deal with and how do you deal with them?

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

